don’t like camp

My memories of my camping experiences include mostly the one where I was stepped on by a horse and one where a counselor carried me upside down across a lunchroom and plopped me at a table of strangers. They did not, as I wondered if they might, eat me alive, so that was good. Oh, and I remember mail day, because I was one of the only campers who got something EVERY SINGLE DAY. (So embarrassing, mom!) But cool, too.

The protagonist in Like Bug Juice On A Burger doesn’t like camp much. And what makes this different from most don’t-like-this-much books is that there’s no major oh-wow-this-is-awesome revelation at the end. She gets through the experience, she makes a friend or two, and she has a few good times. She doesn’t LOVE it. But she doesn’t hate it, either, and that in itself is a valuable lesson. likebugjuiceonaburger

Title: Like Bug Juice on a Burger
Author: Julie Sternberg
Illustrator: Matthew Cordell
Genre: Realistic Fiction
Age: Elementary, 7 – 10ish

Another thing I love about the book is the language. It’s written almost poetically with frequent line breaks:

“All aboard!”

And Joplin was waiting beside me.

My mom kissed my head

one last time

before letting me go.

Then,

feeling very small,

I followed tall Joplin

onto the humungous bus.

Is that great imagery? “Tall Joplin”? I love that!

Another reason I love this book is that it doesn’t preach the message that everyone is supposed to be good at everything and like everything. It provides the reader with a great role model for a girl who (mostly) has fun at camp, and it shows that this is okay. One of the great messages, of course, is that she tried it. You can talk with your kids about things they’ve tried and liked or not liked, and what they might have gained along the way.

One Comment to “don’t like camp”

  1. I love the language in this book too, Wendy. Thanks for the tip, and for bringing up memories of camp. I hated it my first time — homesick, spiders, smelly latrines — but I’m glad now that I tried it. (Thanks for not giving me a choice, Mom and Dad!)

Please reply -- I love comments!

