Who was your favorite teacher?

Some of my favorite teacher memories:

1) My preschool teacher making fun for me for asking where my hat was. You only get one guess.

2) My third grade teacher swinging me around in circles by my arms to demonstrate centrifugal force. (Today you’d probably get in trouble for trying to dislocate a kid’s arm.)

3) My sixth grade teacher turning me upside down to demonstrate reciprocal fractions. (Are you getting a good picture of me as the smallest person in the class?)

4) My (future at that point) Econ professor telling me as I inwardly rolled my eyes that people like me never ended up being Poli Sci majors; they were always Econ majors. (In my defense I also majored in Biology.) Both majors are coming in handy right now as I work on my fantasy/historical fiction novel.  It’s important to note that with all that majoring going on I didn’t take one English or History course.

5) My Biology professor and thesis advisor apologizing for the oversight of not telling me it was opening day of deer hunting bow and arrow season when I got back from the field after my father (visiting at the time) and I were almost killed by angry men with, yes, bows and arrows, trying to collect an underground fungus from blueberry plants.

For some more information on some great teachers in my area, see my recent article in Nashville Parent on three of Tennessee’s Teacher of the Year finalists. Every single one of us who lives in this society and interacts with other people owes a lot to great teachers like these.  Here are some tips on how they do it:

http://www.nashvilleparent.com/elementary-school/how-three-of-tennessees-top-teachers-reach-kids-in-the-classroom

Enjoy!

And please, share some of your own teacher memories below!

2 Comments to “Who was your favorite teacher?”

  1. In Grade 2, my teacher let my cousin and me read our own books and make up our own spelling words. This was in a country school in the late 70s. So she was ahead of her time. While other kids were learning to spell “watch” and “catch”, we looked around the room and chose words we had no idea how to spell, like “fire extinguisher” and “encyclopedia.” It made learning fun…because we were learning something.

    Thanks for the walk down memory lane!

  2. Teachers that understand kids are individuals should be praised with love and some really good wine!

Please reply -- I love comments!

