I won an award! I’m a Stylish Blogger!

I won my first blogging award!  (Is it self-centered to say “first” as if I expect others to come?)  Not sure, but I’m excited nonetheless.  The Stylish Blogger Award is an award given to bloggers by another blogger to show support and appreciation for the blogs that we like.  It’s exciting to think that I’m becoming part of the blogging community.  I really can call myself a “blogger” now!  (Thank you so much to Danaye Shiplett for passing this along to me!)

Of course, like anything invented by the crazy people of blogland, it comes with a creative catch.  I have to tell you seven things about myself.  So I will do that.  And then I’m going to award others, someone I now have the privilege to be able to do.  So, read or skip the seven things depending on how much you want to know about me, but read on to see links to other great blogs that I get to appoint as the next Stylish Bloggers!

1. I am not stylish.  I think this is an important thing to confess given the title of the award, and I hope no one takes it away from me.  Occasionally I watch the show “What not to wear” and I always see myself in the “before” people.  I am not proud of this, but I’m not that embarrassed by it either.  I’m not one who needs to snub the fashion industry because I think I’m above it or purposefully ignore it because I think I can’t handle it.  It’s just not on the to-do list right now.

2. I just chopped about nine inches off my hair and am hoping someone will someday mistake me for Emma Watson.  (Although if you are reading this in order and have already read number 1, you realize that will be unlikely.)  Still, I absolutely love it and even if I end up looking more like Justin Bieber on my bad hair days, it’s worth it for a look that makes me feel so good on the good hair days.

3. I never finished Atlas Shrugged. I’m not sure I ever intend to.  Maybe one day, because besides belonging to the Facebook group “Plugging the Gulf Oil spill with the works of Ayn Rand,” I do like the way she created the story and I hate to leave books unfinished.  (Although, tell that to Moby Dick.)  Another blogger, James Rogers on Kung Fu Monkey summed the story up nicely:

There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-y­ear old’s life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievab­le heroes, leading to an emotionall­y stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs.

4. I am seriously considering throwing my (and my husband’s) iPhone in the garbage one day, right before pick-up.

5. Despite promises to myself not to (after teaching and principaling so many kids for so many years), I do look at my son and think he’s really the best ever.  I have, however, managed not to say that to any of his teachers or principals yet, so I’m at least partway keeping my promise…

6. I really, really love reading children’s books.  I call it “research” for my own writing and now for this blog as well, but truly, they are often so much better than adult novels, mostly of which I just cannot stand for their self-obsession and the way they mistake “serious” and “deep” for sex and violence.  Children’s writers can’t–or don’t usually want to–put a lot of sex and violence in their books and are thus forced to deal with other ways to tell profoundly meaningful human stories.  I appreciate that about children’s books, and I think it makes them even more meaningful than their adult counterparts.

7. I once tried to pour propane into a funnel because I forgot it wasn’t a liquid.  (Sorry, chem teachers.  And no, no one was hurt.)

I’m excited to now pass along the Stylish Blogger award to the following 10 blogs (in alphabetical order):

A Border Life: what it means to transect nature and the city and to really open your eyes and analyze life around you by a beautiful writer (you can take that either way…)

Chez Temple: Dinner at my place: awesome cooking, great photos–makes you hungry just to look!

Ink Footprints: it’s all about writing; she has great drawings, and she’s been a great critique partner at Yellow Brick Road!

Lamb’s Munchings and Musings: Seriously, this food looks YUMMY! (If you make one of her cakes, will you send me a slice?)

Picture This! a really thorough look at writing picture books by a writer and teacher and great blogger

Rumpus: a beautiful blog with beautifully great ideas for kids’ books

Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast: a fun literary and children’s blog that is also local to my area!

Stark. Raving. Mad. Mommy.: funny.  and I like funny.

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them): a lot of us can relate to that.  Plus, she’s the PiBoIdMo girl.

The Zen Leaf: really great book reviews

If you are one of these blogs and would like to claim your reward, simply follow these instructions:

1. Say “thank you” on your blog to the person who gave you the award (you are welcome!) and link back to their site.

2. Reveal 7 things about yourself!

3. Spread the love by passing the award along to 10 more bloggers that you love! (And contact them to let them know they’ve won.)

8 Comments to “I won an award! I’m a Stylish Blogger!”

  1. You’re a reader after my own heart! I gave up on Ayn Rand and I’ve read the Tolkien’s books several times- one of my all time favorites. (I didn’t get through Mobey Dick, either, but I plan to one day. In the nursing home.)

  2. Oooh…Starting a nursery home reading list is a FANTASTIC idea!

  3. Thank you so much Wendy! I’m very flattered. Off to check out your other nominated blogs!

  4. Thanks so much for the award! 🙂 I’m so glad I found your comment on my post today, because my wordpress marked it as spam! It marked one other person’s as spam too. Not sure what its problem was today – normally it’s very good!

  5. I love children’s books too. Congrats on your award! Stopping from Mom Loop!

  6. Thanks, Wendy! You will definitely be getting a shout out later when I have time to update what went on in my kitchen last night 🙂

Please reply -- I love comments!

