Animals, animals, and more animals

This book has spawned a musical revolution in my house.  My toddler now goes around the house very proudly singing “Old MacDonald” but purposefully mismatching the animal sounds.  (As in, Old MacDonald might have had a cow on his farm, but there is a “quack, quack here”.)  He thinks this is the most hysterical thing anyone’s ever said, and he sings a verse and then waits politely for me to laugh out loud, which of course I do, even if I hadn’t been paying attention and have no idea what he was singing–I can easily assume because that’s what is being sung around our house.  At any rate, he loves it, and I love it, and that’s only the influence of one of the many awesome poems and quotes in this book.

Title: Animals, Animals
Illustrator: Eric Carle
Genre: Picture Book
Age Group: 0 – 7 and much, much older!

Summary and Review: This is one of those picture books you keep for a long time.  It was good for reading to an infant because of the gorgeous pictures and melodic verse.  It’s great for a toddler because of the huge variety in animals as well as the type of verse that describes those animals.  The book is an anthology of famous and not-so-famous animal quotes, poems, and songs.  It has every from a quote from the Bible and the Talmud (the latter is “a handful does not satisfy a lion”), to haikus, silly poems by Ogden Nash (“Tell Me, O Octopus, I begs, / Is those things arms or is they legs? / I marvel at thee Octopus; / If I were thou, I’d call me Us.”)  And of course, a great poem about a farm where the animals all make the wrong sounds, inspiring the musical creativity of my little boy.

In short, I couldn’t imagine a more awesome book.

Follow-up with the kids:

Well, I couldn’t imagine a better one than the version of Old MacDonald my son invented.  So try it yourself and see if it catches on just as quickly in your household!

Please reply -- I love comments!

