The painful death of picture books, according to the New York Times

(BIG DISCLAIMER ON THIS POST: One of the major quotes for this article in the NYT was taken way out of context and the parent has cleared this up on her blog, The Zen Leaf.  I try not to spread rumors when possible, but really, I didn’t think reposting a New York Times article would be akin to spreading rumors.  Sometimes I worry that journalism isn’t just dying because of the internet, but that journalists are giving up on it themselves.)

This is sad.  Really sad.  Kids should LOVE reading.  Or they are not going to read.  This should be obvious.  I find it interesting that so many adults think kids are going to act differently than themselves.  I mean, how many things do you do that you don’t really like?  It reminds me of a friend who once said she tried to start eating more healthy foods by buying tofu, until she realized that putting tofu in her refrigerator for a few weeks and then throwing it out when it was old was NOT a good way to get protein.  Similarly, buying chapter books for reluctant readers who want to read picture books is NOT a good way to get literate.  I mean, seriously, buy them some Captain Underpants.

New York Times article on disappearing picture books
(I think you need to register or log in to read, but it is free).

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/08/us/08picture.html?_r=2&nl=books&emc=booksupdateemb5

2 Comments to “The painful death of picture books, according to the New York Times”

  1. I think many of us were saddened by this article. To think that pictures aren’t as important as words is very shortsighted in my opinion. They not only make children’s books more interesting, but they open the door to a variety of creative opportunities. I also addressed this and bullying today. http://lulumusing.wordpress.com

    • Hi Linda! I look forward to reading your blog as well! This is a sad article–not only because of the implication for picture books, but because of what it says about how we are raising our children and the anxiety parents are feeling (and then passing on to their kids).

Please reply -- I love comments!

